Best way to manipulate elements in foreach

I want to be able to use .split() on the current element in a foreach for a scenario. Is that possible? For example, I have the following code:

You can’t use Gatling EL and Scala code together!

http((“task”).validate[String].map(.split("""","""")(1)))

Thank you! That worked.

I wanted to know why it worked though. What does the _(“task”) part do? Also why do I need to use .map()?

Sorry, I’m still learning Scala.

Underscore is a Scala shortcut for a closure.
An expended version would be :
http(session => session(“task”).validate[String].map(_.split("""","""")(1)))

Then, session(“task”).validate[String*]* produce a Validation[String]. So, to transform it, you can use .map() function on it.

clearer ?

Oh, that makes a lot more sense than what I was thinking.

Sorry about that. Thank you for taking the time to make that clear.

No prob.

Sure (sorry, I should have explained better, this will be detailed properly in Gatling 2 documentation).

1. Gatling EL syntax is very limited, you have to stick to the documentation. You can’t mix it with Scala code. What happens is that Gatling DSL methods actually expects functions. The reason you can pass Strings instead is that there’s an implicit conversion that parses the String and turn it into a function that manipulates the Session.

2. Regarding what I wrote:
    Please have a look at Gatling 2 Session and Validation APIs:
    https://github.com/excilys/gatling/wiki/Gatling-2#wiki-validation

The expected function signature is Session => Validation[String] (input is Session, output is Validation[String]), so:

session: Session => session(“task”).validate[String].map(task => task.split(""""""")(1)))

session(“task”).validate[String] returns a Validation[String] Validation is a container (monad) and with map, you can create a new container of the same type, but with a new content, that’s obtained here by splitting the string.

This function can be written more shortly.

Get it?