Gatling 3.0.1 - JDK SSL issues

Hi All,

I am new to Gatling, just installed 3.0.1 version of Gatling and everything works fine.
I had to disable openssl since our target environment doesn’t have openSSL.

When I do that I get a lot of SSL exceptions: ( The same configuration works fine with OpenSSL - local) - Attached.

javax.net.ssl.SSLHandshakeException: General SSLEngine problem
Caused by: sun.security.validator.ValidatorException: PKIX path building failed: sun.security.provider.certpath.SunCertPathBuilderException: unable to find valid certification path to requested target

—pom.xml–

<properties>
   <java.version>1.8</java.version>
   <netty.version>4.1.32.Final</netty.version>

ssl_error.txt (4.51 KB)

Hi,

I am new to Gatling, just installed 3.0.1 version of Gatling and everything works fine.

Latest version is 3.0.2. You should upgrade.

Gatling ships a statically linked BoringSSL (binaries are available for Linux, MacOS and Windows, all 64bit).
As long as you have one of those architectures, you can use our OpenSSL support.

Caused by: sun.security.validator.ValidatorException: PKIX path building failed: sun.security.provider.certpath.SunCertPathBuilderException: unable to find valid certification path to requested target

The most likely reason is that the root CA that issued your server’s certificate is not trusted in your JDK version.
Try upgrading to latest JDK, maybe this CA has been added since u152.

Stéphane Landelle

GatlingCorp CTO
slandelle@gatling.io

Thanks for the response Stéphane.

Gatling ships a statically linked BoringSSL (binaries are available for Linux, MacOS and Windows, all 64bit).
As long as you have one of those architectures, you can use our OpenSSL support.

I think the issue is the the static linked BoringSSL does not work in my target env because it is running Alpine Linux.

The most likely reason is that the root CA that issued your server’s certificate is not trusted in your JDK version.