How to force "exec" to be executed inside the "IF" condition

Hi. I’ve been using Gatling for 2 months and I’m a bit stuck with what seems to be a simple problem. I’m new to scala.

I have such a program code. But I don’t understand why, the condition inside “IF” is not met. At the same time, the output to the “println” log works.
How to make “exec” run inside “if”?

.group("_UC20")(
          exec { session =>
            val city_proc = session("city_proc").as[String]
            val street_proc = session("street_proc").as[String]
            val building_proc = session("building_proc").as[String]

if(city_proc != session("deliveryCity") || street_proc != session("deliveryStreet") || building_proc != session("deliveryNumberHome")) {

exec(LightBuyWithPromAction.api_v3_addresses_reduce_short_address)
                .exec(LightBuyWithPromAction.api_shopping_context)

println("city_proc", session("city_proc").as[String])
              println("street_proc", session("street_proc").as[String])
              println("building_proc", session("building_proc").as[String])

} else {}

session
          }
        )

At the same time, when the output to the log is triggered, it does not execute “exec”, but goes further along the program code and executes the next group “group”.

Hi @GeorgeDev,

Do you know Gatling simulations may be written in Java or Kotlin?

Questions:

• Did you check what is the type of city_proc? (String, I guess)
  • Did you check what is the type of session("deliveryCity")? (Not String, I guess)

So, the condition is ALWAYS met.

Your real question should be: “Why the gatling step inside my custom function is not run?”
Because gatling DSL is mainly a builder, and calling step in your custom function will never work.

For reference: see the 2nd alert block in Session - Function documentation.

I think you need Conditional statements

Cheers!

1 Like

Because gatling DSL is mainly a builder, and calling step in your custom function will never work.