processing responses

Hello,

I’m new to gatling (using 2.0.0-M3a) and consider myself a beginner at scala. I’m trying to send a request, process the response and send that processed response as the body of the next request. I see the “processResponse” processor, but am not sure how to use it or if it’s even the correct solution for my use case… any help appreciated.

achap

Hi,

Have you read the tutorials?

You capture elements from the response using checks and generate request bodies with templates.
Also check out Gatling 2 page: https://github.com/excilys/gatling/wiki/Gatling%202#bodies

yes… i’ve read the tutorials… but I was still missing something. I noticed the “processResponse” Processor in the version 2.x docs and was thinking it might be what I’m looking for, but I’m not sure how to apply it. I also just ran across the Redis example which is different but think that might be a good place to start.

Maybe something like…

exec(
http(“request1”)
.post("/someResource1" )
.headers(myHeaders)
.body(ByteArrayBody(session => getRequest1BodyBytes(session)))
.check(bodyString.saveAs(“responseBody”)) // does using bodyString work for protobuf bytes?
)
.exec(
http(“request2”)
.post("/someResource2" )
.headers(myHeaders)
.body(ByteArrayBody(session => getRequest2BodyBytes(session)))
)

val getRequest2BodyBytes = (session: Session) => {
// make protobuf request object and return it in Array[Byte] format
// would also like to store a requestId in the session here if possible but not sure how to return both things
}

val getRequest2BodyBytes = (session: Session) => {
val myBytes = session(“responseBody”).as[String].getBytes

// turn into protobuf
// do stuff and return more bytes…
}