[Scala] How does the check syntax work?

Hi everyone,
This is a type of “help me, I am new to Scala!” question.

It is baffling for me how do the checks like below even compile.

jsonPath(“foo”).saveAs(“indices”)

jsonPath(“foo”).find.saveAs(“indices”)

jsonPath(“foo”).find.transform(_.toUpperCase).saveAs(“var”)

jsonPath returns a MultipleFindCheckBuilder
.find and .transform return a ValidatorCheckBuilder

None of these traits implement a .saveAs method which is defined on a CheckBuilder trait. Even though the two above traits are named after a “CheckBuilder” they don’t actually extend that trait in the code.

So how come does the compiler not complain? It is beyond me.

I can see here:
Gatling - Checks that

In the case where no verifying step is defined, a exists is added implicitly.

.exists actually returns a CheckBuilder object which does implement .saveAs, that is nice. Yes, but how does the compiler know that it should be “automatically” adding .exists here?

Regards,
Tomasz

Do you want to learn how those things work to become a Scala developer? As a Gatling user, this is an implementation detail.

Also, are you aware that Gatling 3.7 has a Java DSL too? It would probably be easier to understand (oh the boilerplate to implement it compared to Scala…).

Hi Stéphane,

Also, are you aware that Gatling 3.7 has a Java DSL too? It would probably be easier to understand (oh the boilerplate to implement it compared to Scala…)
I found out this week and I told the Tech Leads in my project about it. Java DSL is definitely a great selling point.

We are however currently using Gatling 3.6 and if and when we are going to upgrade to 3.7 remains to be seen.
It might also be that in this particular project we are stuck with Scala.

We have actually created a layer on top of Gatling that allows people with very little Gatling and Scala knowledge to create simple tests.