Can Gatling manage cookies from redirected websites

Hi,

Excuse my vague descriptions, I’m fairly new to testing and have been asked to find a tool that can simulate logging into our web application so we can stress and load test our site.

I’ve downloaded and set up gatling, and I love the way it works, very efficient. And from someone entering the development world, it’s perfectly laid out - no GUI irritations etc.

What I need to know, before I spend too much more time learning it is can gatling handle cookies from redirected websites?

Scenario;
We have an STS server and Web Server. When navigating to the website it directs you to the STS server, where you login and get sent back to the web server with a cookie. This cookie is the key to authenticating the users access, sessionID etc.

What I noticed in my recording is that this cookie is not being captured. We validate against both servers to tell whether key elements are being called or not - it calls the STS on login which is good, but it’s not sending the cookie and therefore not validating against the actual web server, ending up in a loop from the initial web call. This means we are effectively testing our login page multiple times and not the actual application.

Can gatling handle this kind of complexity? Is it simple to work around?

I’ve tried JMeter and it cannot handle this kind of task even with extravagant workarounds, so I wasn’t sure if gatling can. So far, from what I’ve found the only product to be this complex is Visual Studio ultimate 2012, but I haven’t purchased a licence and therefore have not efficiently tested it’s load application.

I can provide a sample code if need be - explaining how it actually is working.

Appreciate any help.
Josh

Hi Josh,

We don’t currently support STS, so your insecure urls won’t automatically get turned into secured ones. Except for this point, cookies should work fine.

Which Gatling version did you try?