Clarification on constantUsersPerSec and throttling

Hello i am very new to Gatling and i am trying to simulate 500 requests per second for writes and selects to Cassandra

setUp(
scnInsert.inject(constantUsersPerSec(500) during (30 seconds)).protocols(cqlConfig),
scnSelect.inject(constantUsersPerSec(500) during (30 seconds)).protocols(cqlConfig)
)
I thought inject(constantUsersPerSec(500) during (30 seconds) ) would be enough for hitting this rps. The attached image is almost the same for select.
However i saw from the reports that looks a bit “unstable”. Sometimes it does not hit the target of 500 requests per second or it goes way above it (See attached )
My question is why it does not hit the target way below and why it goes above ? (Note running it locally in my pc)

So i am reading online about throttling and i am a bit confused about it. Why would i need throttle on top of ConstantUserPerSec?
Is there any point for instance specifying more ConstantUserPerSec e.g 100 and having throttle of rps 50?
Why i do not just specify 100 ConstantUserPerSec?.

Thank you in advance,
Aristoula

Imagine a factory where workers are scheduled to start working every 5 seconds. There is a big line of people standing at the time clock, and every 5 seconds, one of them punches in. As soon as they clock in, they get to work doing their job…

When you say “constantUsersPerSec()” you are simulating that same situation. Every so many milliseconds, a new virtual user is started.