Misunderstood Active User Execution

Hello,

I am a beginner in load/performance testing.
I had the opportunity to test several testing tools (Locust, JMeter, Gatling) and I find Gatling the most understandable and easy to use.
Nevertheless, I have a question. Contrary to the other tools, the number of requests sent (and for each the same scenario) is 2 or 3 times higher!

Example of results:
→ Locust: 20 000 requests
→ JMeter: 21 000 requests
→ Gatling: 60 000 requests !
My question is: how do the users run in Gatling?

Thanks for your answer!
AG

Fine, why? :smiley:

Seriously, we use a model of Actors for the scenario itself, and users are only small data footprint that flows through this Actor model.

Note that the values you gave are not proofs for anything. It lacks units (per second? per scenario?), reproducible (computer spec? network?), injection profile, etc.

Cheers!

1 Like

Thank you for your answer :slight_smile:

You are right, I did not give enough details…
The information about my scenario:
→ number of users: 50 (injectOpen(atOnceUsers(50)))
→ imposed duration: 60sec ( during(60).on(…))
→ target: relatively heavy page including all javascript links, css, images, etc. Total number of GET requests: about 50

Result information (GATLING):
→ 47530 request executions in total
→ average response time: 160ms
→ 766 req/s on average

LOCUST comparison (for example):
→ 22759 query executions in total
→ average response time: 126ms
→ 378 req/s on average

How does this Actor model affect the higher number of requests with Gatling?

Thanks in advance
AG

For such a small amount of users (50), there shouldn’t be any difference about the user model.

I don’t know how the other solutions work. So I can’t tell for sure about the differences.

Our http client is netty that use non-blocking IO.
There is no max simultaneous connections in Gatling (but may have max in system)
There is no default pause between action steps (perhaps our competitors use default pause?)