Simulation exceeds JVM code size limits?

Hello, I’m new to Gatling but am trying it out as an alternative to jmeter; initially I see a lot that I like. I ran into an error in one of my early tests and am looking for some insight. I took a .har recording of a sample web session and imported it into Gatling; this appeared to work well. I explored the generated class a bit, it looks pretty straightforward and I like the ability to use a DSL to craft tests.

This is on version 2.3.0 (30 August 2017), downloaded yesterday, running on Windows.

Anyway, I went to run the simulation, and after running gatling.bat, it sat there for a bit before coming back with this and a long stacktrace:

09:48:55.877 [ERROR] i.g.c.ZincCompiler$ - Could not write class mypackage/RecordedSimulation because it exceeds JVM code size limits. Method java/lang/StringBuilder’s code too large!
09:48:55.893 [ERROR] i.g.c.ZincCompiler$ - one error found
09:48:55.893 [ERROR] i.g.c.ZincCompiler$ - Compilation crashed
sbt.compiler.CompileFailed: null

I’m assuming this might have something to do with this from the faq?

The compiler complains my Simulation class is too big
Scala classes have the same limitations as Java ones. For example, the amount of code inside a method can’t exceed 64Kb.
If you are in this case (for example, you recorded a big maven installation), you should consider refactoring things a little bit.
If you want to achieve modular and maintainable scenarios, you should consider externalizing processes as chains in other Scala objects.
If you don’t care about maintainability but just want to quickly play what you recorded, you can move the chains outside of the apply method. Also consider changing them from val to lazy val if you have multiple Simulations in your directory.